Elske leenstra
Elske Leenstra
Insider

Elske Leenstra

August 2016

Life in pastel

We visit the freelance content creator and mum-of-two in her home in rural Friesland in the Netherlands to see how she has created a beautiful happy home for her family. No bonus points for guessing her favourite colour!

Search

Close
Dining room fresh flowers table vase pendant light kartell ikea

 A bit about yourself:

Elske Leenstra (34) from the Netherlands. Girlfriend, mom of two sweet girls and I work as a freelance content maker: I blog for myself and others, love to take photos and make graphic designs, and I am community manager for Meet the Blogger.

Where you live and who you live with:

I live in a village near to Sneek, in the north of the Netherlands (Friesland). I live together with my love Piet, our daughters Jelka (7) and Yfke (5) and our cat Lucius and dog Simmer. Oh and of course the two goldfish Blub and Blubie.

 Favourite/coolest item in your home:

My mint Smeg!

Fail-safe decorating trick:

Always choose things you love and it will always fit together.

First thing you thought of this morning:

It's almost time for our summer holiday!

A talent you wish you had:

I wish I could be a really good illustrator. Or a really talented singer haha!

Urban jungle 1 plant 3 stylings flower me happy pot poster elske
Kitchen my new
Living room all time favourite poster ixxi design super rural for like

Advice to your younger self:

Follow your dreams and your heart. Learn by experience!

Favourite band of all times:

I love a lot of different music.

Your style icon:

None, be yourself!

Favourite colour:

Pink

Best way to de-compress:

A weekend on our boat and touring around on the Frisian waters.

A superpower you wish you had:

All the powers that Inspector Gadget had (go go gadget arms!)

Cats or Dogs:

Both. We have a cat Lucius, she's 11 years and a puppy Simmer. She's a Stabijhoun and 20 weeks young.

Urban jungle 1 plant 3 stylings cactus vase mountain pillow serax
Living room wooden poster timbergram vtwonen styling wood

Elske's Little black book of Oppenhuizen, Netherlands

Coolest thing about your town:

All the water around it. The best way to explore the area is by boat.

Where you like to hang out:

I love the fairtrade coffee and lunch at Royaal Belegd in Sneek.

Favourite restaurant/ bar /café:

Foodbar Picknickers at the other side of the lake. Perfect to go by boat, relax under the threes and the food is great.

When the weather is good I like the terrace of De Walrus in Sneek, with friends, wine and tapas.

Top 3 local stores

Nio & Elva in Sneek, with lots of Scandinavian design

Valentijn, this is where I get my fresh flowers

Living once, vintage shop

Top 3 online interior stores/brands

Urbans and Indians, &Klevering, Wonen met Lef

Urban jungle 1 plant 3 stylings 2 poster for like ever super rural

MORE INSIDER STORIES

  • Insider

    Melia Malmquist

    Featuring...
  • Insider

    frida florentina

    Featuring...
  • Insider

    Janice Issitt

    Featuring...
View more

SIGN UP TODAY

Join at{mine} today and get a glimpse into a world of real interior inspiration. Love that detail? You’re only a click away from buying it for your home!

Join the interiors revolution

Get design inspiration straight from real homes, where people actually live. Very stylish people.

Already a member? Log in
WHY SIGN UP? FIND OUT MORE ABOUT THE COMMUNITY

oh dear!

It’s no fun being on the outside. Join the at{mine} community and you’ll be able to peek into our members’ homes and even find out where they bought that elegant statement piece. Sign up is quick and simple – come on in!

Already a member? Log in